Monday, February 13, 2017

Enhancing GPL's A Year of Reading 2017: Readalikes for February

February is the month of love and romance and happy hearts. I was so impressed with the February titles for the Love Connections theme, I thought I would enhance this list with similar book picks.

For A Thousand Days in Venice by Marlena De Basi, try:
  • Only in Naples by Katherine Wilson - Americans fall in love with Italians and with Italy; while food is a central piece in both memoirs, it's a family affair in Only in Naples, and (at first) a solitary pastime in A Thousand Days in Venice.
  • Still Love in Strange Places by Beth Kephart - These two engaging memoirs trace the lives of women who fall in love with foreign men, move to their country, and learn to fit into the local culture. Along the way, each encounters linguistic, cultural, and social challenges.
For Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg, try:
  • Data, a Love Story by Amy Webb - Drawing on their own experiences, the authors of these books examine technology's influence on human relationships. Modern Romance surveys the dating pool from a sociological standpoint, while Data, A Love Story recounts the author's personal quest to find love online.
  • Labor of Love by Moira Weigel - Each concerned with the vagaries of finding a mate, these issue-oriented books differ in their precise focus. Labor of Love looks at a history of dating in the U.S., while Modern Romance looks at contemporary courting in a number of locales.
For  Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare, try:
  • A Kiss at Midnight by Eloisa James - These witty, upbeat Regency historical romances take the tropes of classic fairy tales and reinvent them as they follow spirited, resourceful heroines and their unlikely aristocratic love interests from Once Upon a Time all the way to Happily Ever After.
  • The Sum of All Kisses by Julia Quinn - These romances feature damaged heroes who are forced to spend tie in close quarters with the heroines, during which a romance slowly develops. The stories are full of witty banter, heartfelt conversations, humor, and drama.
For Sweet Little Lies by Jill Shalvis, try:
  • You Don't Know Jack by Erin McCarthy - Secrets and lust are the focus of these banter-filled contemporary romances set on opposite coasts. Though Sweet Little Lies favors a heartwarming tone and You Don't Know Jack is funnier, both are steamy and touched with a bit of magic.
  • Make You Mine by Macy Beckett - In these banter-filled, heartwarming contemporary romances, the road to true love is rocky, if steamy. Is it the fault of a wish or a curse?
Hope you find a Love Connection with one or more of these titles!

No comments:

Post a Comment