Monday, February 27, 2017

Moonlight - Best Picture Winner at the 89th Academy Awards

Image result for moonlight poster



The Academy Award for Best Picture went to Moonlight this year, a triptych-like coming of age story of a young black man growing up in Miami. Moonlight comes out on home video tomorrow, February 28, and you can place a hold to rent a copy now: Click here to place a hold on MOONLIGHT.

If you're waiting for your copy, or saw it and want something similar, try the following titles:



Thursday, February 23, 2017

More Great Listening for Audiobook Lovers


One source for great audiobook recommendations is the recently released annual RUSA Listen List. (RUSA is a division of the American Library Association). This list highlights audiobooks with extraordinary narrations that merit special attention by a general adult audience. You can view the entire list here.

Here are some highlights from the list that you can borrow from your library. There is something for almost every audiobook listener here. 

For short story listeners from a short story master:
(available on CD and downloadable through MyMediaMall)
Sometimes scary, sometimes sad, King’s collection of career-spanning stories is read by a talented cast of actors.


For fans of historical romance:
Because of Miss Bridgerton by Julia Quinn, narrated by Rosalyn Landor
(available on CD and downloadable through MyMediaMall)

If you enjoyed A Man Called Ove:
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper by Phaedra Patrick, narrated by James Langton (available on CD and downloadable through MyMediaMall and hoopla)

If you are a fan of Downton Abbey, this historical melodrama might be for you:
Julian Fellowes’s Belgravia by Julian Fellowes, narrated by Juliet Stevenson
(available on CD and downloadable through MyMediaMall)

For dog lovers:
Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley, narrated by Michael Urie
(available on CD, Playaway and downloadable through MyMediaMall)
For fans of historical fiction and the American West:
News of the World by Paulette Jiles, narrated by Grover Gardner
(available on CD)

If you like your crime fiction mixed with humor:
Razor Girl by Carl Hiaasen, narrated by John Rubinstein
(available on CD, Playaway and downloadable through MyMediaMall)

If you like keeping up with award-winning books:
The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead, narrated by Bahni Turpin
(available on CD, Playaway and downloadable through MyMediaMall)

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

58th Grammy Awards



The 59th Grammy Awards ceremony was held on Sunday, February 12, 2017.  Here are the winning songs and albums in our collection.

Record of the Year/ Song of the Year/Pop Solo Performance - "Hello" - Adele
Album of the Year - 25 - Adele
Best Pop Duo/Group Performance - "Stressed Out" - Twenty One Pilots
Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album - Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin - Willie Nelson
Best Pop Vocal Album - 25 - Adele
Best Dance Recording - "Don't Let Me Down" - The Chainsmokers
Best Contemporary Instrumental Album - Culcha Vulcha - Snarky Puppy
Best Rock Performance/Rock Song - "Blackstar" - David Bowie
Best Metal Performance - "Dystopia" - Megadeth
Best Rock Album - Tell Me I'm Pretty - Cage the Elephant
Best Alternative Music Album - Blackstar - David Bowie
Best R&B Performance - "Cranes in the Sky" - Solange
Best Traditional R&B Performance - "Angel" - Lalah Hathaway
Best R&B Song - "Lake by the Ocean" - Maxwell
Best Urban Contemporary Album - Lemonade - Beyoncé
Best R&B Album - Lalah Hathaway Live - Lalah Hathaway
Best Rap/Sung Performance - "Hotline Bling" - Drake
Best Rap Song - "Hotline Bling" - Drake
Best Country Solo Performance - "My Church" - Maren Morris
Best Country Song - "Humble and Kind" - Tim McGraw
Best Country Album - A Sailor's Guide to Earth - Sturgill Simpson
Best Americana Album - This Is Where I Live - William Bell
Best Bluegrass Album - Coming Home - O'Connor Band with Mark O'Connor
Best Reggae Album - Ziggy Marley - Ziggy Marley
Best World Music Album - Sing Me Home - Yo-Yo Ma & The Silk Road Ensemble
Best Spoken Word Album - In Such Good Company: Eleven Years of Laughter, Mayhem, and Fun in the Sandbox - Carol Burnett
Best Musical Theater Album - The Color Purple - Stephen bray, Brenda Russell & Allee Willis
Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media - Miles Ahead
Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media - Star Wars: The Force Awakens - John Williams, composer
Best Song Written for Visual Media - "Can't Stop the Feeling!" - Max Martin, Shellback & Justin Timberlake, songwriters
Best Surround Sound Album - Dutilleux: Sur le meme accord; Les Citations; Mystere de l'instant & Timbres, espace, movement
Best Orchestral Performance - Shostakovich: Under Stalin' Shadow - Symphonies Nos. 5, 8 and 9
Best Opera Recording - Corigliano: The Ghost of Versailles
Best Choral Performance - Penderecki Conducts Penderecki, Volume 1
Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble Performance - Third Coast Percussion - Steve Reich
Best Classical Instrumental Solo/ Classical Compendium/Contemporary Classical Composition - Daugherty: Tales of Hemingway
Best Classical Solo Vocal Album - Schumann & Berg - Dorothea Roschmann; Mitsuko Uchida



Sunday, February 19, 2017

Fantasy Author Laurell K. Hamilton


Laurell Kaye Hamilton, aka: Laurell Kaye Klein and was born February 19, 1963 in Heber Springs, Arkansas. Laurell grew up in Sims, Indian with her grandmother Laura Gentry.
Her education includes degrees in English and biology from Marion College (now called Indiana Wesleyan University), a private Evangelical Christian liberal arts college in Marion, Indiana. She met Gary Hamilton, whom she married, there. They have one daughter together, Trinity.
Hamilton is involved with a number of animal charities, particularly supporting dog rescue efforts and wolf preservation.
Ms. Hamilton currently lives in St. Louis, Missouri with her daughter Trinity, and husband Jonathon Green whom she married on 2001.
Hamilton is an American fantasy and romance writer. She is best known as the author of two series:

Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter series centers on Anita Blake, a professional zombie raiser (necromancer), vampire executioner and supernatural consultant for the police. The Anita Blake Series currently has 25 book to its credit.
Merry Gentry series centers on Meredith Gentry, Princess of the Unseelie court of Faerie, a private detective facing repeated assassination attempts. Hamilton's Merry Gentry books has 8 books in the series.


Both fantasy series follow their protagonists as they gain in power and deal with the dangerous “realities” of worlds in which creatures of legend live.
Ms. Hamilton also has a Marvel comic book series called Anita Blake Vampire Hunter. She has been involved with this series since 2011.











Crimson Death is Laurell K. Hamilton's new book.
The twenty-fifth adventure, of the Anita Blake vampire hunter series.
Anita has never seen Damian, her vampire servant, in such a state. The rising sun doesn’t usher in the peaceful death that he desperately needs. Instead, he’s being bombarded with violent nightmares and blood sweats.
And now, with Damian at his most vulnerable, Anita needs him the most. The vampire who created him, who subjected him to centuries of torture, might be losing control, allowing rogue vampires to run wild and break one of their kind’s few strict taboos.
Some say love is a great motivator, but hatred gets the job done, too. And when Anita joins forces with her friend Edward to stop the carnage, Damian will be at their side, even if it means traveling back to the land where all his nightmares spring from…a place that couldn’t be less welcoming to a vampire, an assassin, and a necromancer: Ireland.




Thursday, February 16, 2017

Conclave by Robert Harris

I recently listened to the book Conclave by Robert Harris and narrated by Roy McMillan. The novel is a great listen and one of my favorites in the thriller genre.

This wonderfully narrated (8 hours) thriller takes us into the Sistine Chapel during the ultra-secret papal conclave. In the novel, the fictional pope has just died, and 117 or so cardinals from around the world are summoned to Rome to elect the next pope. Unbeknownst to the cardinals the now deceased pope named the Filipino Archbishop-Cardinal of Baghdad, in pectore (appointments to the College of Cardinals by the pope whose names are not publicly revealed, mostly to keep the cleric safe from persecution). In the aftermath of the pope's sudden and unexpected death rumors begin circulating that he was planning to fire a few cardinals. In charge of overseeing the papal election is the Dean of Cardinals, Cardinal Lomeli. Lomeli feels it is his duty to uncover what the pope knew before he died because some of the cardinals in question are in the running to succeed him. Tension and high suspense surround the elaborate, richly described ceremonies of each vote as secret revelations about the leading contenders surface. Once again Harris delivers a knockout of an ending.

Like Papal fiction, try one of these....

Woman of God by James Patterson (2016)
The Third Secret by Steve Berry (2006)
The Last Pope by David Osborne (2004)
The Accidental Pope by Raymond Flynn (2000)
Cardinal Galsworthy by Edward Sheehan (1997)
White Smoke by Andrew Greeley (1996)

Monday, February 13, 2017

Enhancing GPL's A Year of Reading 2017: Readalikes for February

February is the month of love and romance and happy hearts. I was so impressed with the February titles for the Love Connections theme, I thought I would enhance this list with similar book picks.

For A Thousand Days in Venice by Marlena De Basi, try:
  • Only in Naples by Katherine Wilson - Americans fall in love with Italians and with Italy; while food is a central piece in both memoirs, it's a family affair in Only in Naples, and (at first) a solitary pastime in A Thousand Days in Venice.
  • Still Love in Strange Places by Beth Kephart - These two engaging memoirs trace the lives of women who fall in love with foreign men, move to their country, and learn to fit into the local culture. Along the way, each encounters linguistic, cultural, and social challenges.
For Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg, try:
  • Data, a Love Story by Amy Webb - Drawing on their own experiences, the authors of these books examine technology's influence on human relationships. Modern Romance surveys the dating pool from a sociological standpoint, while Data, A Love Story recounts the author's personal quest to find love online.
  • Labor of Love by Moira Weigel - Each concerned with the vagaries of finding a mate, these issue-oriented books differ in their precise focus. Labor of Love looks at a history of dating in the U.S., while Modern Romance looks at contemporary courting in a number of locales.
For  Romancing the Duke by Tessa Dare, try:
  • A Kiss at Midnight by Eloisa James - These witty, upbeat Regency historical romances take the tropes of classic fairy tales and reinvent them as they follow spirited, resourceful heroines and their unlikely aristocratic love interests from Once Upon a Time all the way to Happily Ever After.
  • The Sum of All Kisses by Julia Quinn - These romances feature damaged heroes who are forced to spend tie in close quarters with the heroines, during which a romance slowly develops. The stories are full of witty banter, heartfelt conversations, humor, and drama.
For Sweet Little Lies by Jill Shalvis, try:
  • You Don't Know Jack by Erin McCarthy - Secrets and lust are the focus of these banter-filled contemporary romances set on opposite coasts. Though Sweet Little Lies favors a heartwarming tone and You Don't Know Jack is funnier, both are steamy and touched with a bit of magic.
  • Make You Mine by Macy Beckett - In these banter-filled, heartwarming contemporary romances, the road to true love is rocky, if steamy. Is it the fault of a wish or a curse?
Hope you find a Love Connection with one or more of these titles!





Prepare for the 89th Academy Awards!

This year's Academy Awards ceremony will air on Sunday, February 26th. Below is a complete list of all 62 films nominated for awards. While we don't have access to all of  them yet, many of them you can check out or at least place a hold on! How many have you seen? What are your predictions?


  • Allied (Costume Design)
  • Arrival (Best Picture, Cinematography, Directing, Film Editing, Production Design, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Adapted Screenplay)
  • Blind Vaysha (Animated Short)
  • Borrowed Time (Animated Short)
  • Captain Fantastic (Actor - Viggo Mortenson)
  • Deepwater Horizon (Sound Editing, Visual Effects)
  • Doctor Strange (Visual Effects)
  • Elle (Actress - Isabelle Huppert)
  • Ennemis Intérieurs (Short Film)
  • Extremis (Documentary Short)
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (Costume Design, Production Design)
  • La Femme et le TGV (Short Film)
  • Fences (Best Picture, Adapted Screenplay, Actor - Denzel Washington, Supporting Actress - Viola Davis)
  • Fire at Sea (Documentary Feature)
  • Florence Foster Jenkins (Costume Design, Actress - Meryl Streep)
  • 4.1 Miles (Documentary Short) 
  • Hacksaw Ridge (Best Picture, Directing, Film Editing, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Actor - Andrew Garfield)
  • Hail, Caesar! (Production Design)
  • Hell or High Water (Best Picture, Film Editing, Original Screenplay, Supporting Actor - Jeff Bridges)
  • Hidden Figures (Best Picture, Adapted Screenplay, Supporting Actress - Octavia Spencer)
  • I Am Not Your Negro (Documentary Feature)
  • Jackie (Costume Design, Original Score, Actress- Natalie Portman)
  • Jim: the James Foley Story (Original Song - The Empty Chair) 
  • Joe's Violin (Documentary Short)
  • The Jungle Book (Visual Effects) 
  • Kubo and the Two Strings (Animated Feature, Visual Effects)
  • La La Land (Best Picture, Cinematography, Costume Design, Directing, Film Editing, Original Score, Production Design, Sound Editing, Sound Mixing, Original Screenplay, Actor - Ryan Gosling, Actress - Emma Stone, Original Song - Auditon, Original Song - City of Stars) 
  • Land of Mine (Foreign Film)
  • Life, Animated (Documentary Feature)
  • Lion (Best Picture, Cinematography, Original Score, Adapted Screenplay, Supporting Actor - Dev Patel, Supporting Actress - Nicole Kidman) 
  • The Lobster (Original Screenplay)
  • Loving (Actress - Ruth Negga)
  • A Man Called Ove (Foreign Film, Makeup and Hairstyling) 
  • Manchester by the Sea (Best Picture, Directing, Original Screenplay, Actor - Casey Affleck, Supporting Actor - Lucas Hedges, Supporting Actress - Michelle Williams)
  • Moana (Animated Feature, Original Song - How Far I'll Go)
  • Moonlight (Best Picture, Cinematography, Directing, Film Editing, Original Score, Adapted Screenplay, Supporting Actor - Mahershala Ali, Supporting Actress - Naomie Harris)
  • My Life as a Zucchini (Animated Feature)
  • Nocturnal Animals (Supporting Actor - Michael Shannon)
  • O.J.: Made in America (Documentary Feature)
  • Passengers (Original Score, Production Design)
  • Pear Cider and Cigarettes (Animated Short)
  • Pearl (Animated Short)
  • Piper (Animated Short) *Find on the DVD for Finding Dory!
  • The Red Turtle (Animated Feature)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (Sound Mixing, Visual Effects) 
  • The Salesman (Foreign Film) 
  • Silence (Cinematography) 
  • Silent Nights (Short Film)
  • Sing (Short Film)
  • Star Trek Beyond (Makeup and Hairstyling)
  • Suicide Squad (Makeup and Hairstyling)
  • Sully (Sound Editing)
  • Tanna (Foreign Film)
  • 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi (Sound Mixing)
  • 13th (Documentary Feature)
  • Timecode (Short Film)
  • Toni Erdmann (Foreign Film)
  • Trolls (Original Song - Can't Stop the Feeling) 
  • 20th Century Women (Original Screenplay)
  • Watani: My Homeland (Documentary Short)
  • The White Helmets (Documentary Short) 
  • Zootopia (Animated Feature)